Effective August 1st, 2014 providers of private driver training must provide a Louisiana private driving school surety bond to the State. The a surety bond in the sum of $40,000 will be required (if such surety bond is available for purchase) pursuant to the bill commentary. The surety bond must name the Department of Public Safety and Corrections office of motor vehicles (OMV), as obligee and shall be subject to the condition that, if the private driving school or any of the private driving school's instructors fail to perform any services the school agreed to provide to a student or a student's parent, the private driving school fees may be recovered from the bond by filing a claim through DPSC against the bond. Private driving schools with multiple locations shall be required to furnish only a $40,000 private driver school surety bond.
The surety bond and any necessary licensing materials must be delivered to and filed with OMV as follows:
Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles
Private Driving School Surety Bond
7979 Independence Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
The new statute makes it unlawful for any person to operate a driving school or to offer instruction as a driving school instructor unless both the school and the instructor are currently licensed as a driving school by the department, and has provided the appropriate surety bond. To date, the OMV has not published the bond form for public use.
Louisiana surety bond leader, Surety One, Inc. is available for same-day servicing of your private driver school bond request. Our special programs allow us to offer you bonding regardless of your credit and financial condition. Do you operate in multiple states or offer other vehicle services? No problem! We offer surety bonds in all states. Visit us at SuretyOne.com, call (787) 333-0222 or (800) 373-2804, or email us at Underwriting@SuretyOne.com for a Louisiana private driving school surety bond application or for information on any surety need.