To sell motor vehicles in the State of Louisiana you must be licensed and provide a Louisiana motor vehicle dealer bond. There are various classes of dealer licenses issued by the Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission. Louisiana law requires that an applicant comply with specific licensing requirements and post a surety bond in one of two amounts. A new auto dealer must post a $20,000 Louisiana bond for new motor vehicle dealer. A used auto dealer must post a $20,000 if the dealer sells 119 or less units within the year, and $35,000 if 120 or more. Louisiana Title 46, Part V (1) and Title 32 are the statutes which regulate dealers and define the surety bond requirement, that the dealer will comply with the conditions of any written contract made by the dealer and shall not violate any of the provisions of the law of Louisiana in the conduct of the business for which he or she is licensed. The Louisiana dealer bond must be made payable to the secretary of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections for the use, benefit, and indemnity of any persons who shall suffer any loss as a result of any violation. The nation’s surety leader, Surety One, Inc. offers motor vehicle dealer bonds in all states where they are required by law. Our special program affords access to these bonds regardless of credit and financial condition for all dealer applicants. For more information visit us at SuretyOne.com, call (787) 333-0222 or (800) 373-2804, or email us at Underwriting@SuretyOne.com for a Louisiana motor vehicle dealer bond application or for information on any surety bond need throughout the United States.