If you open business in the State of North Carolina and offer cigarettes for sale to the general public you must provide a North Carolina cigarette tax bond and apply for a sales license. The bond guarantees that the licensee will promptly perform all of his duties and discharge all of his liabilities under the provisions of the North Carolina “Tobacco Products Tax Act” and will comply with all of the provisions of said law and with such rules and regulations as may be promulgated by the Secretary of Revenue. The bond penalty is currently $2,500 however it can be increased by the Department of Revenue based on multiple factors. Many business that offer cigarettes also sell cigars and other tobacco products. There is a separate requirement and North Carolina bond for tobacco products other than cigarettes which are also initially set at $2,500.
The nations surety leader, Surety One, Inc., will issue both of these bond types for all applicants regardless of credit condition. Visit the nation’s surety leader at SuretyOne.com, call (800) 373-2804, or email Underwriting@SuretyOne.com, for a North Carolina cigarette tax bond, or tobacco products other than cigarettes tax bond application or information about any surety bond product. We bond in EVERY state!